In LearningSuite, you can automatically unlock Modules within a Course as soon as your Members meet certain conditions.
For example, you can specify that a Module is only unlocked once a Member has access to a specific Course or has completed a specific Lesson.
Available Conditions
Various conditions are available for automatically unlocking your Modules.
General
Date: Specify the date from which, or the date range during which, the Module should be available.
Member since: Only unlock the Module once a Member has been registered on your platform for a certain period of time, for example, for at least 30 days.
Member Properties: Only unlock the Module if a specific Member Property is set.
Access
In Course: The Member must have access to a specific Course.
In Group: The Member must be part of a specific group.
In Bundle: The Member must have access to a specific Bundle.
Course
Lesson: The Member must have completed a specific Lesson.
Course progress: The Member must have reached a specific level of progress in a selected Course.
Exam: The Member must have completed or passed a specific exam.
You can also combine multiple conditions.
For example, you can specify that a Member must have access to Course X and the date must be after 12/12/2026 for the Module to be unlocked.
Access Options
You can also specify how the Module should be displayed to your Members while not all conditions have been met.
Visibility Options
Three different options are available:
Locked: The Module is displayed to your Members but cannot be opened yet. As soon as all conditions are met, it is automatically unlocked.
Locked with notice: The Module is also displayed as locked. In addition, your Members can see which requirements they still need to meet to unlock the Module.
Hidden: The Module is initially not displayed to your Members. It only appears automatically in the Course once all conditions are met.
Important: The “Locked with notice” option is only available if you are not using any access conditions (in Course, in Group, in Bundle) or Member Properties. A Member cannot meet these requirements themselves, which is why they are not displayed as a notice.
Behavior When Copying and Moving Courses
When you copy a Course within your LearningSuite, the defined conditions for the Modules are automatically retained.
However, there is one special consideration when transferring a Course between two different LearningSuite instances.
Because not all conditions can be transferred between instances, the visibility of the affected Modules is adjusted in the target instance.
This means: If a Module uses the “Conditions” visibility setting, the default visibility setting is applied when it is transferred.
Example:
A Module uses the “Conditions” visibility setting and has “Locked with notice” set as its default visibility.
If you transfer this Course to another LearningSuite instance, the Module will have the “Locked” visibility setting there.
This is because not all original conditions can be transferred to the new instance.
Therefore, after transferring a Course, check the visibility of your Modules and define the desired conditions again if necessary.
If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact our Support Team via the HelpCenter in the bottom left. We usually respond within 5 minutes on business days from 09:00 to 17:00.
